‘Press For Champagne’ A DIY Tutorial

Like almost every girl who has spent any time on Pinterest  (especially girls who have a fondness for the fizz), I have been coveting one of the ‘Press for Champagne’ signs. They come in all shapes and sizes, different fonts and styles, I love them all! Buuuuut, they’re pretty pricey – so, being the crafty calligraphy-fiend that I am, I decided to make one (actually more than one as I decided my sister needed one for Christmas…) 

 

Step 1:

image3

I assembled my ingredients via eBay and Amazon (this would have been even easier if I had a Target, or similar, nearby – island girls need to get creative). I needed a suitable frame (I chose this one, I got one in gold and one in rose gold – I can’t be the only one obsessed with rose gold everything, right??), a doorbell button, card stock and a new brush pen (actually I didn’t need a new brush pen but any excuse…) I added a couple of metallic leafing pens and a can of white spray paint since I wanted to make them in different colour combinations. I estimate that each sign cost me $15 to make (as I was making more than one). 


 

Step 2:

I trimmed my card stock to size and traced a rough guideline for my circular script (note that you could also use coloured, or even patterned, card stock for a different look). Then it was time to get the pens out… I have a passion for creative lettering  (and a preference for the imperfect) so I went free hand, but you can get an equally striking effect with transfer letters, stencils or a printable template online. Be sure to leave space for your doorbell button.


 

Step 3:

image2

I painted my doorbell button with a metallic copper leafing pen, since I didn’t like the rather faded brass finish and wanted a rose gold effect to match one of my frames. Next take a glue gun or a decent craft glue (I used E6000) and stick your doorbell button to the center of your page. 


 

Step 4:

image1

Put your frame together as usual (minus the glass) and work out where to hang or display your fabulous new piece of art!! I decided on my little bar nook (although disappointingly it doesn’t have any champagne in it at the moment – hint, hint husband) 

Hope that you have as much fun making one as I did – makes for a great, personal, Christmas gift and if you hurry you could still make one!

 

Charlie x

4 thoughts on “‘Press For Champagne’ A DIY Tutorial

Leave a Reply

