My New Year’s Resolutions: New Year, New Goals.

 I came home recently to find that the husband had made a list, or a set of lists to be exact – productive lists. One for him, one for me and one for us. They featured a few key items that we have let slide in the hustle and bustle of everyday life – not just chores and boring things (*ahem* tidying the spare bedroom), but exciting things (like blogging), things that we’re interested in that we had let fall by the wayside  because we’re busy and life can feel stressful at times. It was genius, such a good idea, a really positive wake up call and it got me thinking about all the things I would like to achieve in 2017.

 

:: Improve my morning routine:

I am not a morning person (and that is a massive understatement) I’m grouchy, I’m permanently sleepy and I have to rush out the door in order to make my ferry.

I think my life could be markedly improved if I could train myself to wake up a bit earlier and ease into my day (any suggestions on how to achieve this are very welcome). I would like to incorporate some new routines that will bring some calmness to my morning and allow me to take my time. Maybe I need to go back to the early morning dog walk duty (which gave me some much appreciated sunrise meditative time, even though it shaved off precious minutes in bed), maybe I should start juicing, possibly think about taking up yoga (?), definitely I need to make a change. 

 

:: Practice my calligraphy:

I have mentioned before that I’m a keen amateur calligrapher, but I think it’s time to add some discipline, to study and to practice more diligently. Attempt some new fonts and perfect the ones I already use, find more avenues where I can utilize this skill and bring back some creativity to my life.

 

:: Keep blogging:

I first had the glimmer of an idea for my blog in 2014 (when we relocated from one island to a significantly smaller one) but had no idea how to go about it. In 2015 I took a brief stab at it, but got disheartened quickly. 

This time I’ll see if I can keep going, I’ll make the effort to learn about blogging and try to refine my posts and pictures. It’s a nice outlet for me. I sit and make blog notes on my ferry, commuting back and forth, it’s peaceful and I enjoy jotting down my thoughts and observations. It may never amount to anything but if any of you enjoy reading about my rather peculiar island-life it’ll be worth it. 

 

:: Be more grateful:

I get stressed. I build things up and give them more significance than I should. My job isn’t especially difficult or pressured (although it has its challenges, don’t get me wrong…) but the way you hear me talk about it sometimes you would think I worked in critical situations where lives hang in the balance! I need to step back. I need to take a deep breath (or just breathe, full stop) and reassess. 

I need to be more grateful for what we do have and more positive. Baby steps – one deep breath at a time. 

 

New Year’s resolutions don’t have to be big and scary, but it’s as good a time as any to turn over a new leaf. Please, share your thoughts for 2017! 

 

Charlie x

 

5 thoughts on “My New Year’s Resolutions: New Year, New Goals.

Leave a Reply

