My January Reading List

So, since I’m still tearing through books during my commute – I thought that I would make this a monthly feature and share with you the good, the bad and the trashy the ugly that I am getting through each month.

:: The Miracle Morning – Hal Elrod:

miracle

I’ve touched on this here as this book has been instrumental in my new (and improved) morning routine. Overall I found Elrod’s relentlessly positive approach to be a little overwhelming  (but that’s probably the sullen British side of me talking) – he’s been down, he’s come back up and he can help change your life, it’s full-on. Having said that, I found the suggestions to be helpful and the take-away message is valuable.

Bonus: There are MM groups on social media sites full of disciples with tips and support to keep you on your journey.

 

:: Small Great Things – Jodi Picoult: 

small

I’ll preface this by saying that I’m a big Picoult fan – I love the fact that she never shies away from a controversial topic, she takes agonizingly painful subject matter and lays it out unflinchingly. Small Great Things is no different, telling the story of Ruth Jefferson, an African American Labour and Delivery nurse, who ministers aid to the newborn son of a white supremacist couple, against orders, and finds herself facing murder and negligence charges. 

Picoult forces us to really examine what it means to be racist today – whether actively or passively. 

 

:: Rich and Pretty – Rumaan Alam

rich

An interesting examination of the intricacies of complicated female relationships. Speaking for myself, I feel exceptionally blessed by the incredible support network of girlfriends that I have, but that doesn’t mean to say that it’s always easy. We grow up, we grow apart, we come back together, we feel like we never left, we move through school and college, different jobs, maybe marriage and motherhood, everything changes yet essentially remains the same. Rich and Pretty charts the story of Sarah and Lauren, childhood friends of different backgrounds  one rich and one pretty – still close friends although neither of them can really explain why.

 

:: Between You and Me – Lisa Hall: 

between

An otherwise fairly unremarkable thriller about domestic violence, save for the twist at the end. You may or may not work it out before you get there, but if you don’t you’ll almost certainly be compelled to re-read sections and see if you should have spotted it along the way.

Bonus: It may have made it onto my reading list because it’s currently only $0.99 on Kindle (What? Don’t judge me, my reading habit gets expensive…

 

Any recommendations for me in February? I just started The Woman Next Door – so I’ll let you know how I get on with that one…

 

Charlie x

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “My January Reading List

Leave a Reply

