#100HappyDays

Happy Friday everyone!

A few years ago I came across the 100 Happy Days Project on 100HappyDays.com. Such a simple premise but I didn’t realise how much it could improve my life. 

Since completing it the first time, I did it again the following year and, after a bit of a tough week, I’ve decided to start it again. 
The challenge is to take and post one photo a day of something that makes you happy. It can be as easy or as complicated as you choose. For me, historically, it has involved quite a lot of food, my dogs, my husband and friends. 

That’s one of the interesting points – after you complete the challenge and you look back at your pictures, you will undoubtedly spot trends appearing. Often it seems to be the small things – a nice latte, a rainbow, a palm tree, a flower. That might sound trite, but the thing I really noticed about the challenge is that it always made me look for the ‘happy’ and that I started to appreciate the little pleasures a lot more. 

When you’re having a bad day, it’s easy to get wrapped up in your slump – to luxuriate a little in your misery and throw yourself a pity party. 100HappyDays forces you to look for the positive, every day, and gradually you’ll notice that you genuinely feel more positive and upbeat, that all those little moments of happy are lifting your mood. I start to feel luckier and I’m more appreciative and grateful for the good things in my life – things that I might have previously taken for granted. It’s a bit like when you smile, when you really don’t want to smile, but you make yourself and soon enough that smile becomes genuine and not forced. 

So I’m giving it another try – I feel like I need that little boost at the moment. I’ll be using Instagram as my platform – you can follow me here to help me stay accountable! A quick search of the #100HappyDays tells me that there are lots of other people still participating. 

Anyone want to join me? Shall we spread some happiness around? 

Charlie x 

Images via 100HappyDays.com

One thought on “#100HappyDays

Leave a comment